Participate in the 2021 Election!

The Brothertown Indian Nation’s annual elections are coming up in May! The following positions will be included on ballots this year: Vice Chair position (incumbent: Jessica Ryan), Two Tribal Council positions (incumbents: Dawn Kraintz, Seth Elsen), and a Peacemaker position (vacant). The persons holding the positions of Secretary and Council Member shall be elected for a term of 3 years. The persons holding the positions of Peacemaker shall be elected for a term of 5 years.

Brothertown members interested in running for Tribal office should contact the Election Committee prior to the March meeting. The March General Membership Meeting (3/20/21) will include a report from the Election Committee identifying nominees for Council and Peacemaker as well as receiving nominations from the floor.

Absentee ballots will be mailed to all members who are at least 18 years of age. An election packet will be mailed by USPS in early April to all eligible members.  The mailing will include a listing of all nominees for office, voting procedures, a voter verification form, an absentee ballot, and the ballot envelope.

Ballots will be tabulated and counted on Saturday, May 15th. If you’ve moved recently, please ensure your address is up to date by contacting Linda Shady ( Please contact the Election Committee regarding Campaigning Policies in a Brothertown Tribal Election

By voting, it shows you care enough about the future of our tribe to elect members to move the tribe forward. If you have questions regarding the election, please contact one of the committee members listed below.


Thank you,

Elections Committee

•Linda Shady

•Raven DeLange

•Melissa Kavonius