Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Month: May 2024

Latest Mystery Drawing Winners

Our members are the lifeblood of our Tribe, and the Mystery Drawing is only one way we show our appreciation for all members and their daily efforts in helping our tribe succeed.

Thank you all for your Support!

Our latest winners were announced in our Volunteer Mystery Drawing, they include: Christina Straw, who won the “lucky feather” (which means Christina receives an extra 10 drawing chances for the “BIG” Dec. 14, 2024, gathering prize, and Scott Nelson who won a $25 Subway gift card. Congratulations!

2024 Brothertown Meet the Candidates Forum on Zoom

ALL candidates, citizens, and Brothertown descendants are invited to attend the “Meet the Candidates” forum via Zoom. Event is Sunday, May 5th at 4:30pm PT/ 5:30 pm MT/ 6:30pm CT/ 7:30pm ET

  • The candidates for the 2024 Brothertown Indian Nation elections have been announced as follows:
    • Vice Chair (one position to fill): Jessica Ryan (incumbent), Craig Cottrell
    • Council (two positions to fill): Dawn Kraintz (incumbent), Hector Marroquin, Will Ottery
    • Peacemaker (one position to fill) : Greg Elsen (incumbent)

To obtain log-in information, please visit the Election Page here on the tribal website to request your access. The Election Committee will send you the link to join via email.

Candidate Forum Ground Rules:

  • We will treat each other with mutual respect
  • We will maintain a decorum which exemplifies how our Ancestors lived
  • Focus upon issues affecting our community today and tomorrow
  • Arrive at this particular time with a good heart and spirit

Below is the agenda and the questions that will be presented to help voters better understand each candidate’s goals and views concerning issues facing the Tribe today. Please also note the forum’s ground above.

Agenda:

  • Invocation 
  • Candidate introductions and brief bios
  • Candidate questions (listed below)
  • Open floor questions if candidates so desire 
  • Wrap up with reminders on how/when to vote

Candidate Questions:

1. What are 1 or 2 of the Brothertown Indian Nation’s greatest strengths?

2. What are 1 or 2 opportunities that our nation could improve upon?

3. What is the most important issue facing BIN & Tribal Council(Council candidates) or Peacemakers (Peacemaker candidate) today?

4. What qualities or resources do you possess that you feel will best serve the citizens of Brothertown?